What is the NDIS?

The NDIS is short for the National Disability Insurance Scheme. The NDIS is a new and exciting way to provide services for people with disability. The NDIS promotes greater choice and control for people with disability and their families.

To be eligible for the NDIS you need to have a permanent and significant disability that affects your ability to take part in every day activities. If you are eligible for the NDIS you will be assisted to identify your goals and needs and an individual funding package will be allocated to you to purchase the supports you require.

How do I know if I an eligible? To be eligible you need to:

  • Be under 65 years of age
  • Have a permanent and significant disability
  • Be an Australian citizen, live in Australia and hold a permanent visa or hold a Protected Special Category Visa.

Unlike the previous system of disability funding the NDIS also supports people with a psychosocial disability, which is a term used to describe a disability arising from a mental health issue.

If you would like to know more about the NDIS and whether you are eligible contact the NDIS on 1800 800110 or visit their website www.ndis.gov.au

Share This
%d bloggers like this: